The first thing I noticed after lucubrating through the terms and conditions was the tethering. If you’re a farmer like me and you don’t live in an area with high-speed internet access, the tethering becomes a make-it-or-break-it deal. With the new T-Mobile One, there is unlimited tethering at only 2G limacine speeds (512kbps), which stultifies any meaningful use. Getting decent speeds requires an additional $15 add-on for 4G tethering and has a data cap set at 5GB per month.

Is Data Really Unlimited?

Your data still isn’t truly unlimited even if you’re just planning on using your phone or tablet—which, by the way, T-Mobile and other carriers still fail to understand that there are Windows and OS X powered tablets, not just Android and iOS. But anyhow, if you are using what T-Mobile considers a “phone or tablet” the data cap is effectively still set at 28GB because after exceeding 26GB, speeds slow way down from throttling. T-Mobile doesn’t specify how slow it’s going to be after 26GB, but from my testing with previous T-Mobile data caps, it’s looking like less than 512kbps.  With that said, the tricks I have below aren’t going to offer you truly “unlimited” tethering data either because that 28GB soft-cap will result in T-Mobile slowing you down if you go over in one billing cycle. Not everyone will experience the post-28GB throttling, but do keep in mind that on previous versions of T-Mobile’s unlimited data plan (if you’re lucky to be grandfathered in) this throttling wasn’t present. Update: We were contacted by a T-Mobile representative who clarified that only 3% of their customer base may see throttling above 28GB on a single line. The next thing is the HD video. The new T-Mobile One plan offers “unlimited video” data, but it’s only at 480p. True HD (720p or greater) requires an extra $25 add-on per-line. This feature was previously free and only required activation with the My T-Mobile account settings. Now if you find T-Mobile’s fine print to be anathema, here are three different ways to work around the tethering limits. Editor’s Note: Before you use these tricks, make sure you don’t abuse them. T-Mobile CEO John Legere has announced his intention to go after “Network Abusers” who are using as much as 2 TB of data and are circumventing T-Mobile’s throttling and data caps. Abusers get kicked off the unlimited data plan. If you only use a few extra GB, you shouldn’t raise any red flags. Just don’t go nuts. Do the data equivalent of driving 5 MPH over the speed limit. Or, if you fear the wrath of John, maybe skip this tip.

Method 1 – Dun = 0 [Android Only]

Requirements: Windows PC, USB cable Note: If you see “error: device not found” it is usually because A) you need to update your phone USB drivers on your PC or B)  your USB cable isn’t capable of transmitting data because it is only designed to charge the phone or C) USB Debugging isn’t enabled.

Method 2  – PdaNet

Requirements: Windows PC or Mac, USB Cable

Note: If you find PdaNet isn’t working, or T-Mobile is severely throttling your connection, installing a custom Android ROM as Cyanogenmod can help. This is in part because, on many phones, T-Mobile has pre-installed network monitoring software designed to detect extracurricular data use.

Method 3 – VPN

Requirements: Monthly fee While it may slow down your connection a bit, one sure way to get around any sniffing T-Mobile might be doing to detect your tether usage is to tunnel your traffic through a  VPN (Virtual Private Network). This can be done on the individual PC you want to tether, or you can tether the phone’s entire data stream. There are too many options here to list them all, but when it comes to simplicity PIA (Private Internet Access VPN) is the best and easiest to set up and will run you about $39.95 a year ($3.33 a month). PIA has a Mac, Windows, iOS, and Android client which just works. So that covers it. For me the Dun=0 trick and PdaNet worked well enough, I didn’t have to resort to a VPN, but your mileage may vary depending on what phone you have and the total network traffic in your area. Please post any questions or issues you have below, and I’ll do my best to help out! I was also using Cyanogenmod when testing with the built-in hotspot utility. I to am a usier of Pdanet with T-Mobile, with my Samsung Galaxy s7. As it is way out in the country, I can not get inter unless I pay 80$ a month for HughesNet, was supposed to get dsl but it was one of those “O YES WE WILL RUN IT BY YOUR HOUSE REALLY SOON”……15 years ago. On PDAnet, do you know can I tether that with a VPN running on my phone? I hate usb tether option, true I get 2mb/ss but it stops my phone from charging plus it gets hot, I ask about vpn because I thought hide data would actually hide it from Them. I would like to use wifi Direct Hotspot option but that forsome reason takes me DOWN to 30kb/s and that is ho w I can play the game DayZ with my bestfriend but I get kicked off alot which I wish I could play with USB tether option now, but that wont even let me connect with a server. I was told a vpn might help but I didnt know if a vpn would work if enabled on my phone, and I was hopping it would speed wifi Direct. Thank you in advance for your help :) God bless you and stay safe :) “Lucubrating”? “Anathema”? Did somebody say “Farmer”?.odt That is the filename of where I stored this info for any subsequent need. Well, yes. “Lucubrating” is a span of twelve character sets [words] from the character set “farmer”. As for wonders never ceasing – somebody, if you would be so kind, please do inform the author of my appreciation for this advice. It is by said means, that this remark does appear, at this spot, at this time. Further, I might add, it is by means the same, that said advice is now being forwarded to a retired U.S. State Department official (we call him “the Ambassador”), now residing in Germany. He oft complains about, “lousy rural internet, out here where I live among cows.” (He is currently enjoying, by my clocking, ~6Mbps, whilst I had been so-called communicating with him at my 262 kbps. I had tried to tell him, in one of my known and attested failures at diplomacy, to just shut up.) I shall now convey to him, in mind-boggling, lickety-split fashion (sorry; I’m a metrics freak, y’know), my devoted gratitude for the author’s advice. I feel, somehow, renewed. Thank you. You are very kind. – Brian Raila Parkville, MD United States of America PS: I’ve currently exceeded the first 4GB, And I’ve tried changing the proxy(Nothing happened) I’ve also tried PdaNet (Nothing happened), Dun=0 method isn’t working: Getting this message on ADB shell(error: device unauthorized. Please check the confirmation dialog on your device.), and tried changing TTL on Windows as well (As usual nothing happened). Can you tell me how to use it at a Good speed(Not in very high speed lol)? please, reply ASAP! check it out on the easytether website Thanks Ron. I ended up using an energy efficient PC left on 24/7 to share the connection with a router creating WiFi at the house. I don’t recommend that setup, but if your only other option is dial-up like it was for me then desperate times call for desperate measures. Proof usage https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B559FIpi6uslN1BMMmRfcms0N0k/view speedtest https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B559FIpi6uslNTFjb2ZQSW83bFE/view Would any of the above suggestions work for using a T-mobile sim card on their One plan, and plugging that into a MOFI4500 sim4 router (band 12)? Then double click it and add value 65 as hexadecimal. 4. After that, please restart the computer and check the result. The phone has a ttl of 64(in base 10) so just add 1 per hop and your good usually you are just one away(wifi hotspot) Don’t know how: but only combination modifications ONLY work for my set up: Nexus 5x – rooted 6.01 with “settings put global tether_dun_required 0” PLUS Asus n31u router (w/ net.ipv4.ip_default_ttl = 65, bridge mod) If i was everybody else reading this, i would try this method and see if it works for you again WINDOWS users 1. Open Registry Editor (regedit.exe). 2. From the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE subtree, go to the following key: \SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters. 3. In the right pane, add the following value: Name: DefaultTTL Type: REG_DWORD Then double click it and add value 65 in decimal, (thx Jay) then restart https://goo.gl/photos/JntMr9LawXj229ZYA https://goo.gl/photos/EXcFSq6vBQzCjoUB8 so far so good, but im waiting on the troll, so b4 anyone calls BS theres the puddin.. https://goo.gl/photos/cuVLVzvScsn64Ays6 ps pls dont comment if you know what may be laying around on that workspace… i second mark, the first and third options didn’t work for me. I’d like to skip using pdanet and get it to work via the first method if possible…. Samsung Galaxy S7 On 6.01 Nexus 5x – rooted 6.01 with “settings put global tether_dun_required 0” PLUS Asus n31u router (w/ net.ipv4.ip_default_ttl = 65, bridge mod) Works for Window 7 desktop and laptop, chromebook, and tablets. All about 80 Gigs last month Nexus 5x – rooted 6.01 with “settings put global tether_dun_required 0” PLUS Asus n31u router (w/ net.ipv4.ip_default_ttl = 65, bridge mod) Works for Window 7 desktop and laptop, chromebook, and tablets. It didn’t work just one mod Things seem to be working OK, though, we only notice slowdowns when using it as a hotspot to watch Netflix on the TV. When we check data usage it’s all accounted for, but lists PDANet with most of the data. Is this normal? Finding that tethering is definitely faster than Wi-Fi hotspot. We can watch hi-def videos tethered directly to desktop with no buffering, while TV via hotspot is crap. I just need to find a cheap router to load one of the open firmwares to it, any suggestions? As far as PDAnet being listed as using almost all the data…same thing on my phone. I get a text from MetroPCS the minute I get near or go over 35GB telling me I will be deprioritized or whatever. That’s fair to me….people under 35GB usage get full speed and heavy 35GB + users get lower priority but still not a real throttle and still totally useable high speed as far as I’m concerned. Fair enough. Metro says unlimited but with deprioritization after 35GB fine as long as it stays unlimited high speed overall is a reasonable trade off for all you can eat high speed data. At least for me. And at least so far. Keys to speed, I make sure I have a good signal and even bought a cell signal booster for 99bucks on ebay and it helps a lot to get a solid signal. My signal that I saw on CellNetwork Info APP showed I had a weak signal. It was still totally HD streamable, but with a stronger signal it’s definitely faster and better now. Hope this helps. I guess I could always upgrade to the ONE Plus plan, but what’s the fun in that? Nexus 5x – rooted 6.01 with “settings put global tether_dun_required 0” thru a window 7 desktop PLUS Asus n31u router (w/ net.ipv4.ip_default_ttl = 65, bridge mod) Works for Window 7 desktop and laptop, chromebook, and tablets. It didn’t work just one mod When you tether to the router, do you just simply use the tethering option under settings? I plan to try a router in the near future and may be rooting if necessary. Thank you again Michelle. Just did what Jay n others explained on this thread. 2 things combined to make it work for me. Don’t know the logic but maybe someone here can explain. Now I have 3 routers, one for home, 1 for work to share w my workers, 1 in my RV to share w my teenage kids. Just any old router that can be modified using dd-wrt. I bought my routers thru Craiglist for less than $10 each. Good luck Just to clarify, are you USB tethered to the router? Have you found one router that works better? Off to look for cheap routers… Dd-wrt with iptables to edit the ttl value to 65 Changed apn of hotspot to match the apn of normal mobile date. Doesn’t matter if you use fast.xxxx.com or alpha/beta BUT YOU CANT USE THE ORIGINAL HOTSPOT APN it’ll say mobile web or some shit. If you do you will be routed through their hotspot server and tracked. I’ve done this on iOS and android. ALSO FOR THE FOLKS THAT SAY THE VPN DOESNT WORK. Once again you MUST change the apn AND you have to make sure that your traffic is actually being routed through the VPN, in my experience on both android and iOS hotspot traffic bypass your phones VPN, and VPN on the router/computer traveling through the phone can be tracked if the phone isn’t the one using the VPN, to make it force traffic through the VPN I had to use the for data option in the tether me app on iOS. These things all work if you do it properly. Like I said I use the dd-wrt/iptables and apn option. Did you really mean to say “date” in “mobile date”? I’m trying to understand what you’re doing, but I think me/we need a little more info. Where specifically in DD-WRT settings do you change the APN? And how did you find -what- to change the APN to? And are you connecting to your DD-WRT router via USB cable (tethered) or are you using a wireless connection to your mobile phone (hotspot)? Thanks, I’m currently switching to a BSD box OPNsense (not my first choice but saved headaches involved with PFsense). My issue is I have changed the ttl to 65 using sysctl but I’m still being tracked. I noticed some posts abut it also not working on Linux machines. It works just fine if I use a VPN but I got it of using one to bypass hotspot tracking a LONG time ago for many many reasons. So does anyone know how or in what way I’m being tracked?? Anyone know a way to get this working on a BSD box (PFsense, FreeBSD,opnBSD, etc., etc.) I would really really appreciate ANY insight or thought. I see many folks that have this setup working but can’t seem to get any input as to how. Thank you, MILDEW As for dd-wrt I’m tethered through the usb port. At this current time I have quite playing with the Opn/pfsense as I gave up. I am currently using Zentyal 5.0 (based on Ubuntu server 16.0.4.2) and changed the usual lines in its led to mangle the ttl in the fly like I did on dd-wrt. It’s a lol over kill but I have yet to overload it as I have every router I’ve owned. If I where to recommend a set up , I would have to say go for the the Netgear Nighthawk r7000 and flash it with the latest Kong build of dd-wrt. Very well supported and tested. Lots of possible goodies. I was running transmission and a ton of other services on the box. As for pda net, from my testing years back, it does three things. Normally it changes the ttl, and apn but in private mode?? Or whatever it’s called it also changes the user agent string. I don’t recommend it personally as it uses a lot of overhead on the phone it’s self and then also some on the device tethered. No sense in adding more load and battery drain on an already overly stressed setup. To each there own. Trust me, break out the Netgear and use it. Make sure you have at least two cores at 1ghz and 256mb ram or you are wasting your time. Also make sure to tether not bridge the wifi as the latency is horrible and the battery won’t last over twelve hours on any phone I’ve owned. If you must use a standard router I recremend the r7000 Netgear. Honestly though an old ‘top with zantyal seems to be the best. I’m getting speeds over, what according to the Internet, the “lte standard”. And latency/ping is down to between 12ms and 21ms. Just doing my part. Have a great day. MILDEW I’m not Dave and I can’t say that it won’t but I can’t Fathom it being faster when you add more overhead, destinations, and processes in general. The only other thing I did previously for my PC was the 64 TTL thing described above, which I’m not sure if it actually made any difference, as I wasn’t able to test it before changing it. Hope this helps, good luck is it sent through a second anp? does it mark the packets coming through the wlan interface? do they filter by user agent strings? do that view the ttl? do they block urls that phones do not use? they can do any number of these in any combination, and the commenters on this page will almost certainly not know how a idian telecom filters traffic. you will either have to find info on your telecom or find the info yourself sorry. I live in a place with poor net offers from ISPs. My connection speed is 8Mbps for first 30GB and then 512kbps thereafter (and they call it a broadband con3ction?!?!?!) Can these steps work fron broadband connection or r there any ways to get arround it? Cos end up ising 30Gb i first few days of billing cycle, n then stuck iwth 512kbps:( Looks like i shall be stuck with seroiusly crappy speeds. I’ve tried user agent switchers without luck Any recommendation on what to try besides PDAnet, to avoid the issue? I don’t understand how any of this is getting around the overall data soft caps. The carrier still knows you are using data on their network, just not via hotspot/USB. I find it hard to believe they wouldn’t flag an account using hundreds of GB even on an “unlimited”. Currently, T-Mobile states those that use over 50GB+ may get throttled. Commands: nano /jffs/scripts/nat-start copy this below into your putty nano pad #!/bin/sh sleep 10 modprobe xt_HL modprobe xt_hl iptables -t mangle -A POSTROUTING -j TTL –ttl-set 65 press F2, y for yes, enter to save. next copy this to give it run/write permissions when booting up.. chmod a+rx /jffs/scripts/* next type in command “reboot” and enter.. after reboot, go into your phones settings and enable usb tethering, and you’re done. Also, I’m on Tmobile ONE plan, which is pretty much unlimited (full 4G speed up to 32GB of data used, then “traffic prioritization” after 32GB), so I’m not sure what the 8gig limit you speak of is Otherwise, it’s all useless theory, no offense Firewall command is entered to mangle the TTL. The TTL is set for 63 since it’s two hops down from the phone. Phone=65 TTL automatically, Win7 ICS router is 64 TTL (made by the above regedit), and the ASUS router mangles the TTL to 63. If I remember right it comes with most drivers on hand. But you went this far with the router; might as well use it for a few months then build you a server and just end up turning off dhcp and just using it for the wifi connections to your sever or as a torrent box. I have one for each. You get into it and you’ll be surprised the addiction and builds you’ll come up with. Right know the best setup I know “modem” wise is the s7 you can get well over 300 on met/tmob with its lteA and 256 qam setup. Of course you have to have all variables and conditions just right but 300+ is achievable theoretical is WAY WAY up there. On another note, with these adaptations are you saying I can comfortably torrent from time-to-time? In another post Mildew you mention how Xbox URLs get flagged. Wouldn’t torrents get flagged also? short answer is torrents are fine also the only reason to use a ubuntu “server”(this can be any pc/laptop, its just acting as a server) is it’s easier to edit the data coming through, you don’t need to know anything other then how to enter a string of text into a terminal, or at worst use vi/vim to edit a file so the config is saved permanently if you don’t want to re enter it ever time the computer is rebooted, it 10-30mins of research max. If I use a ubuntu setup, will my MB per second speed increase? Or is it a situation where I need two routers to keep the speed close to the USB speed? other steps to go through -some phones need the phone set to dun=0 -i would recommend that you use a custom rom -change the apn and if your going to use wifi tether router the settings depend on the phone, that app while it works good for some phones requires different setting for each device, but iv’e had some phones that i couldn’t get working at all with it. honestly if your rooted with a recovery installed i would just backup your rom and install a custom one, that should work out of the box with just the ttl edit and it it doesn’t work you can just restore the back up, it’s hard to know whats been done with the default rom that marks the data. There are many pros to running a server setup as well. wifi only slows down when its the limiting factor, a rarity even for lte (the average speed of lte on T-Mobile is around 18Mbs) the only real lose is 3-8Ms latency not a huge toll for the convenience, also for all your talk of servers you are likely confusing others, anything can be a server and you are coming off like you mean a rack mount, all i am doing is giving options to people (of which there a multiple) from the simplest of just editing the ttl of the end point, to the simplest that would allow a whole network to run off it using a router, to the most rebust a pf sense box or linux based machine, all you have done is repet somthing i said on this forum 8 months agoand saying it is the only way that makes sense not having a understanding that for most it doesn’t matter either because of usecase or because the towers in their area couldn’t even give them more if they wanted, not everyone needs a pc running 24/7 and 90% of the people that have visited this forum could never see any bandwidth benefit from running​ a server anyhow I also setup their desktop application on my Windows 7 computer connected by USB tether to the phone. When I turn on the VPN connection, and fire up a browser, navigate to What is My IP? and I can see the VPN is working BUT the Router connected by ICS is unable to connect to the internet. I turn off the VPN and the Router begins working again. I’m close but no cigar on this. Any help is appreciated. I will probably go back and purge a few of the comments that don’t add to the discussion. So, let’s stay focused here and end the back and forth. :) Thanks! -Steve groovyPost PDANet method doesn’t work for me anymore either, used it in the past along with Fiddler2 to change the user string agents in browsers but it seems T-Mobile has caught onto those tricks as well since then and I definitely cannot afford a VPN now or ever in the future. Until early this morning I had a multi-year incredibly sweet deal where a friend literally loaned me their extra Verizon MiFi Jetpack which had a legacy unlimited data plan. Cost me absolutely nothing except for the occasional expensive thank-you gift. That ship has sailed, though, and I’m looking for a replacement. T-Mobile and AT&T have pretty good coverage where I am (I have a cell amplifier as well) and the above discussion re: bypassing any hard/soft data limits is right up my alley. I want to purchase a replacement plan (/and device, likely needed) today. In order to take advantage of the PDANet/other workarounds, what is the least expensive plan I can sign up for? Device recommendations? Thanks! One option for updating: https://www.groovypost.com/howto/microsoft/make-windows-7-automatically-find-new-device-drivers/ I did a manual update of the driver. I noted the type of Intel driver on my computer, and downloaded and installed the latest driver directly from Intel. This helped clear up weird Internet Connection Sharing issues with my attached router. By the way, I found it’s best to reboot the Windows 7 computer once a week. BEFORE rebooting unshare the network connection (disabling ICS). Reboot, connect phone to computer, turn on USB tether, go into Network settings on Windows 7 computer, and then share the USB network connection to the LAN. [code] #!/bin/sh #Set all outgoing TTL values to 65 modprobe xt_HL modprobe xt_hl iptables -t mangle -A POSTROUTING -j TTL –ttl-set 65 [/code] I am not throttled on my linux machine and two ipads. However when I run my linux machine in Windows10, or a laptop on Windows 10, it throttles, even though if I ping the local ip address 192.168.1.77 for example, it shows TTL is 65. Question 1 – Anyone know why this is? Question 2 – Why is my ip address still showing as ‘Tmobile’ even when running PIA vpn through router as described here: https://helpdesk.privateinternetaccess.com/hc/en-us/articles/227852327-Setting-up-an-Asus-Router-running-Merlin-Firmware I’m still getting spotted as Tmobile ip address (but not throttled). If I activate PIA on my desktop, it properly disguises my ip, but then weird things happen, such as webpages sporadically not loading (timing out), and if I run speedtest, the DL portion is still fine, but the UL portion is zero or hangs indefinitely. I really want all my traffic routed through the VPN. Anyone know why this is happening? I feel like I’m so close to making this all worh it. I’ve noticed when I enable the OpenVPN Client service on the router, I must reboot the router. If I don’t, the VPN service will work for a few minutes and then the internet connection stops. I’m no expert but maybe when the router reboots a cache is cleared. No reboot means old cache with old ip info which causes a lockup a few minutes into the vpn session when the cache is accessed. After rebooting, if I login to PIA, it will show “You are protected by PIA”. I use a USB tethered phone into a Windows 7 Pro laptop. The PIA android app is OFF on the phone, and the tethered Win 7 machine is not running the windows program for PIA. DD-WRT does not seem to handle USB Tether directly into the router USB port for Android phones (I tried). As an alternative test scenario, have you tried the USB tether phone into Windows 7 (connected to the router)? I did add the below firewall command into my router (notice the difference in TTL): iptables -t mangle -I POSTROUTING -o get_wanface -j TTL –ttl-set 66 Everything works well for me and I’m using a combination of Windows 10, Win 7, Android, iPad, Google Chromecast, and iphones behind the router with no issues. 180 GB used last month. What the heck is going on? The last option is your best scenario. As for the Windows Thing there could be two reasons one it’s obviously going to still be popping up as a Windows machine in every aspect except the ttl so it’s a lil obvious it’s not your phone (same reason why Windows phones use to have major issues with companies thinking they were tethered devices especially when their TTL was also 128.) One thing I’ll add is this: With iptables I always had to use the increment (inc) command on the in coming traffic from WAN (phone) Decrement (dec) the packages coming from lan (‘puter and other local devices) AND THEN Set the unit to spit out 65 (to be converted to 64) This is redundant but has not worked properly many times when I only set to 65. This is for alex. Alex With you having the ttl set to 66 and it working in thinking that you must have another hop in line before it gets to the network server. So I feel that if you set it to 67 then you could use it indirectly with your rig like you started trying to do. Maybe even 68 because I’m still unclear as to your setup. Honestly I think if you’re going to do it go all the way or don’t even bother Because otherwise it’s just a hassle. I don’t want to think about it or have to hook it up when I get home. Everything has been set up for years now to where I just walk in the house when I get off work and start watching movies playing games or doing anything else I want to on the Internet without plugging anything in or playing with any devices/wires. I also have the same setup, but more compact, in my car and never have to play with it either. Everything I stated here assumes the 8GB you refer to is your hotspot allowance and not your normal 4G LTE allowance. Here is the code I am using : [code] iptables -t mangle -A POSTROUTING -j TTL –ttl-set 65 [/code] Here is the code you (Alex) said you used: [code] iptables -t mangle -I POSTROUTING -o get_wanface -j TTL –ttl-set 66 [/code] Now obviously the ttl value is different and I understand that you add one to 64 for every connection between your device accessing the web and your phone. What I don’t understand is the -o ‘get_wanface’ portion of the code. For example, if I try to input your code into my router, I get the following: [quote] Failed with return code 2 and error message get_wanface: not found Bad argument ‘TTL’ [/quote] I’m using Merlin-WRT, not DD-WRT, so I don’t know if that makes a difference? @Mildew I was under the impression that android tethers cannot occur within the VPN tunnel. According to this article, they were using the router to accomplish this: https://www.vpnuniversity.com/tutorial/how-to-share-unlimited-4g-data-with-your-router At any rate, could you post your iptables script that works for your setup? I understand the concept of the inc and dec, but the utilizing it in coded form, I am going to screw up without a template to start from. Cheers to all for the help. <> I don’t know either. I just copied it from the below link. The only modification in the copied firewall command was changing the TTL to 66 http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Iptables#Modifying_the_TTL Mildew <> Didn’t work for me. I had to follow PIA steps for using VPN on DD-WRT router. Everything I use is behind the router so I’m not too worried. I only use VPN when I’m using bittorrent. With VPN on, if I try to use Netflix, it hangs up. Other connection issues crop up with Chromecast. Zach Your VPN University link gushes about connecting a 4G phone directly to the USB port of a DD-WRT router. It doesn’t work. I spent hours trying to do this. My current setup works well and without issue. Furthermore, the article talks about using a VPN to avoid video throttling. In my case (Tmobile w/ OnePlus unlimited data plan), I see NO video throttling when I turn off the VPN. Most of the time, it’s more of a hassle to have VPN on. Also, I have no idea what VPN University means when discussing “bridge connection”. USB tether to Win 7 pro laptop, share the USB connection to your LAN. Even the static IP advice is wrong. My advice is to ignore that VPN University link. Correct. For others reading this my setup is: DEVICE TTL Phone 64 Win7 65 (registry regedit described by jcwarez above) DD-WRT Rtr 66 From Zach -What I don’t understand is the -o ‘get_wanface’ portion of the code- I don’t know either. I just copied it from the below link. The only modification in the copied firewall command was changing the TTL to 66 http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Iptables#Modifying_the_TTL From Mildew -As I stated before; with the way a VPN works, to my knowledge, you HAVE to run the VPN on the phone.- Didn’t work for me. I had to follow PIA steps for using VPN on DD-WRT router. Everything I use is behind the router so I’m not too worried. I only use VPN when I’m using bittorrent. With VPN on, if I try to use Netflix, it hangs up. Other connection issues crop up with Chromecast. Zach Your VPN University link gushes about connecting a 4G phone directly to the USB port of a DD-WRT router. It doesn’t work. I spent hours trying to do this. My current setup works well and without issue. Furthermore, the article talks about using a VPN to avoid video throttling. In my case (Tmobile w/ OnePlus unlimited data plan), I see NO video throttling when I turn off the VPN. Most of the time, it’s more of a hassle to have VPN on. Also, I have no idea what VPN University means when discussing “bridge connection”. USB tether to Win 7 pro laptop, share the USB connection to your LAN. Even the static IP advice is wrong. My advice is to ignore that VPN University link. From Gizmodo Streaming in 1080p on Netflix takes up 4.7GB/hour. So a regular one-hour episode of something debiting less than 5GB from your allotment is no big deal. However, with 4K, you’ve got quadruple the pixel count, so you’re burning through 18.8GB/hour. Even if you’re streaming with the new h.265 codec—which cuts the bit rate by about half, but still hasn’t found its way into many consumer products—you’re still looking at 7GB/hour. Am I correct in assuming you don’t actually needs VPN on your setup?? I may have got confused (it’s not hard.) that would explain what I think I’m reading. Zack I can’t remember if want ace is the proper when you use the jab port give me time to see if I can remember to give you more info. My server doesn’t have a head right now I I’ll have to log it remotely and I’m on the other end of the property. If I remember I’ll give you more info and try to explain my tags. When I turn on the VPN, speed goes from 40 MB/s to 6 MB/s. Normally traffic is routed around the VPN through the hotspot channel. This is on BOTH iOS and android. You can work around it manually or use an adroit equivalent of “TetherMe”, as it has an option to force all traffic through different channels and vpn’s. Honestly I don’t use android as much as I once did. The incompatibility between devices was a waste of time for me when all iOS use the same stuff for the most part. When I do android now, it’s more of a set it and forget it. I’m 99% sure that wanface is the Ethernet isn’t wan interface only. I’m gonna see if I can crank up a nighthawk and see what the usb interface is named. I have been wrong before. Apologies for taking so long, I fell asleep writing a gpc script. I lied it is wanface. Here is my firewall commands. iptables -t mangle -I PREROUTING -i get_wanface -j TTL –ttl-set 10 iptables -t mangle -I POSTROUTING -o get_wanface -j TTL –ttl-set 64 iptables -t mangle -I POSTROUTING -o get_wanface -j TTL –ttl-inc 1 I almost forgot. As far as the tags; let’s see how well my memory is. -i = Incoming interface -o = Outgoing interface -I = Insert -j = Jump -t = Table Make sure you put the firewall commands In the EXACT SAME ORDER I did. Otherwise incoming won’t properly work (usually no big deal) and your out going ttl would be off. In this next example “TTL” stands for whatever your native (unknown to me) ttl is, “INC” equals increase, And “=” sets/changes the value to whatever number follows after it. I hope this makes sense. Correct way with “= 64” FIRST, the sum of this equals 65: TTL = 64 + INC of 1 Next is the incorrect way (out of order) with “INC” first and “=” after. The sum of the next example only equals 64 because anything before the “SET” value is mostly ignored for our purposes: TTL + INC of 1 = 64 The fist line with the incoming calue set to 10 is mostly because I’ve Haden few companies send and outgoing ttl of 1 so it will only allow one hop (to the phone) and no hop after (router, ‘puter, etc, etc) Hope all of this helps. I had to use slightly different syntax for ASUS-Merlin-WRT [code] iptables -t mangle -I PREROUTING -i nvram get wan0_ifname -j TTL –ttl-set 10 iptables -t mangle -I POSTROUTING -o nvram get wan0_ifname -j TTL –ttl-set 69 iptables -t mangle -I POSTROUTING -o nvram get wan0_ifname -j TTL –ttl-inc 1 [/code] I set it to 69 to equal 68 in order to see if it is changing the TTL. When I ping my local IP, should I not see 68 now? I still see 65 which is the default value I put into the windows registry. Even using your suggestion, I’m still getting throttled in Windows. I tried the free version of PDAnet, and I can get unthrottled speed, but cannot share the connection with the router in order for other devices to use it. I tried both the ‘share connection’ under the status of pdanet adapter, and trying to ‘bridge’ the connection between the pdanet adapter, and the ethernet adapter. Neither one would allow a connection to be shared. Any ideas, I do not understand why this is so difficult….. This all assumes phone is direct connected to router. But if that’s true why are you setting you ttl all of the way to 70?? I forget your setup but it’s 5:36am and I need to go to sleep. Ha How do you post the code syntax in your messages? The start of the coded portion must begin with the enclose block bracket [ ] with the word code written. The end of the coded portion must include a [/] For example [ code ] Test [ / code ] If I take out the spaces between the brackets and characters: [code] Test [/code] Make sure you’re covering all the bases mentioned. If you only change the apn you’ll fail. If you only do the VPN you’ll fail etc etc you must do everything needed. TTL and VPN can be substituted for each other in most situations. Zack Any progress?? Thanks for the code bracket advice! Elaborate because if you get more than 128 on the phone and covered all of the bases you wouldn’t/shouldn’t be having this issue. What are you running left to right and what have you done. Hopes that setup going?? I am personally intrigued by your situation and your numbers. I am stil curious when you say you’re pinging your local adressif you are using a seperate unit or if you are pinging it from the Windows PC. If it’s on the same, Windows, unit then it’s not going to be affected by the router but it sounds like you would have caught that by the way you present your self. Setup is still working well. What follows are a few observations…. VPN If you want to setup VPN on the router, read, then read again, and then hand write out these instructions when using Private Internet Access https://www.privateinternetaccess.com/pages/client-support/dd-wrt-openvpn I say this after my refurbished ASUS RT-N66U died after 2 months. Luckily I had a donated Netgear AC1450 on hand. I flashed it to DD-WRT and set it up. When I reviewed the above link again, I caught a few implementation errors. The corrected errors meant my VPN speed was nearly as fast as no VPN. Quality of Service (QOS) w/ DD-WRT I followed the DD-WRT wiki for enabling QOS. While my measured speed was reduced, I saw no performance difference. I keep it on because others on my network can turn into bandwidth hogs (playing videos, etc) so I put myself at the front the line w/ QOS rules. [b]Virtual Wireless Access Point[/b] With DD-WRT you can create additional virtual wireless access points off one physical router. With the AC1450 I discovered it scrambles the configuration if you try to do this. Joy, oh Joy I got to setup the router twice from scratch. Restore from DD-WRT didn’t work. Kodi with the Exodus Add-On http://troypoint.com/how-to-install-exodus-on-kodi/ Discovered this and got it working. Whoa Nellie! It’s cool to be part of the 21st century with high speed internet. Shiny objects everywhere! My DSL Speed Test went from incredibly poor to respectable scores. http://i.imgur.com/WNl1T3R.png DSL Speed Test http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest Be sure to click MORE and choose 4G for your network. So here’s what’s worked for me: (1) TTL set to 41 hex on my laptop/pc; (2) PIA VPN. For some reason, it appears that my tether is still being tracked when I check my tether vs phone data usage. I just tried the dun=0 method to see if that will stop the tether tracking and divert it to my phone data instead. Will report back. Depends on the method sprint uses. I’m not familiarized. Now on the Hotstpot I get 10 gig of LTE speed which gets throttled to 2G/3G after the 10 gigs . I would like to either bluetooth or USB tether to my desktop undetected off the phones unlimited LTE data and then internet share to watch some netflix . If I could find a way to cast off the hotspot device to the tv that would work but so far I haven’t found a solution to do that . Thanks for your reply . I want to find a way to use command lines in the shell of a DD-WRT router to automatically connect to the phone via ADB like PDANet does. Its a SM-327J Galaxy Emerge , rooted running stock 6.01 . Thanks In the ASUS router admin window ( General | USB Application | 3G/4G ) I noticed I could hook my Android phone directly to the router. After going through the setup which was painless, I did speed tests using DSL Reports and others. Noticed a BIG DECREASE in speed: 6 mb/sec download vs. 45 mb/sec download with my prior configuration. Went back to my old configuration of phone USB tethered » Windows 7 computer with sharing USB network to LAN » ASUS Router. All is good again in router world. However, can’t change APN settings. They are not available to edit on the iPhone. Even if the phone was unlocked, the carrier bundle settings preloaded into iOS still activate when that carrier’s SIM is inserted. Does not work. What can I do differently? Buy an Android phone? This entire thread is geared towards Android owners. i think some ISPs have something called “deep packet inspection” that can read the data flowing from device to device. a vpn would encrypt the packets that prevents an ISP from knowing whether data is from a PC, phone, or other device. i don’t think a vpn alone can achieve the objective of this thread, but i digress. you should be able to push a new carrier bundle with a higher number through iTunes I believe. This will be one you change any setting in. This will cause the signing to become invalid and because it will be on a no. Jailbroken device it will read it as corrupted and discard it. This will cause it to revert to the “unknown” carrier bundle. From there you should have the settings you seek. Which carrier bundle are you using? For me it says MetroPCS 28.3 under Settings–>General–>About–>Carrier I pushed via iTunes a new carrier bundle with a higher number from 28.3 (MetroPCS) to 28.4 (TMobile_US_iPhone.ipcc) and there are still no APN settings visible. I only got the indication from iTunes that it updated the carrier file. The only indication from the phone itself was it now asking to update new carrier settings, however it still said MetroPCS 28.3. From what you’re saying, it seems I just need the unknown.bundle to get the APN settings editable. What .ipcc file do you recommend and/or are you using, where can I get it? Still don’t get how you’re tethering on the 50 plan with no iPhone JB. Again, I’ve been able to change ttl, switch user-agent, add vpn in ios…just not change the apn settings like you have. The phone is locked but I’m not sure that matters. I used setPrefInt carrier-testing 1 for itunes (run command and via elevated command prompt, to which it opens itunes automatically with the command prompt way), connected device, selected the ipcc file and itunes says its updating the file. Yet on the device after reboot it still says the same metro 28.3. So I don’t think it’s actually pushing through. I also tried the tmobile higher 28.4 ipcc, renamed it to the metro file name format and still nothing. I’ve been able to change ttl, user-agent, vpn.. still missing that important step of being able to edit asn. Perhaps you could upload via google drive one of your recommended bundles and post the google drive file link here (and any other suggestions on getting it to push). That might help with resolving this important last step on a non JB. Any other suggestions welcome, too. It’s the se model. Currently on metro 28.3. I’m looking at the apple source for bundles and they’re only sorted by bundle version number. And from there, the link URLs have the ios version and carrier name. I’m not really sure which bundle to push. If that’s known, it might help and voila. it appears looking at the apple bundle source… there are not multiple versions (for specific model phones) of each bundle version. and to answer question it says lte in corner. if you can, just tell me which bundle to push and I’ll push it. then hopefully voila. Hey there. looking at the apple source for bundles, 28.3 is latest for metro. not sure what you mean. if you’d like to take a look at the apple bundle source and just simply recommend the bundle to use that might help. I still have a major issue of my own to figure out so I haven’t gotten around to anything for you yet but I came across this https://modmyi.com/forums/t-mobile/822055-revert-14-0-carrier-bundle-restore-personal-hotspot.html and remembered about you and had a few thoughts. The page is just explaining the same thing I did about breaking the sig. DO NOT USE THE BUNDLE/.plist FROM THAT PAGE as it is old and outdated but maybe he explained it better. I also know that last I checked I was able to use iBoot Bot?? Not sure on the name. To modify the bundle causing the digs to become invalid this was on iOS but I’m sure it would still work but if you’re going that route you can, most likely, just delete the carrier bundle. Which will most likely cause it to revert to the unknown bundle which allows apn editing and native hotspot function. My apologies on the delayed help I’m just really caught up on an issue of my own. I believe that was the name. That’s the point…. If the file is still there just delete it OR edit the apn and it will make it invalid and it can’t use it. Apple patched it so if you edit the carrier bundle that it will break the signature and ignore it. If it ignores it it will revert back to the unknown bundle like I’ve been trying to explain as well as what the guy is talking about in the link I posted. Alternatively I believe you could just delete the carrier bundle out of your back up all together and when you restore it it should be gone. Editing it causing it to void the signature has the same effect. Make sure you never ok a carrier update or it will download and fix the carrier bundle. Make sure you’re in the right carrier bundle folder as there is the one the phone uses and there is a copy of the list on the phone as well. Unless if something has changed, and I see no reason to change it as we aren’t really doing a security work around. Either way, I will be doing this sometime soon myself after ios11 roles out in like an hour. I’m gonna do some device testing and will have to do this myself also. Let me know how it all goes for you until I can put in some leg work myself. If for some odd reason iBackup doesn’t give you access (I don’t think you need the paid version anymore to get to the carrier bundle), because apple hid it in 10.x.x (highly doubt due to it already being patched) then not all is lost. We just have to find something to edit the bundle with before you push it, like the guy in the post did. I can’t remember what I used to do it though. otherwise AS A LAST RESORT you can sideload a few tether apps that will tether through the data apn and set up an ad-hoc network or a proxy to complete this usually they the ones you will find are wifi as-hoc network links but a few actually tether with a cord. Honestly I would avoid this unless all other means fail or you really need stuff like VoLTE (VoLTE might actually be included in the newer unknown bundles but I doubt it as I can’t fathom a way to add the settings without editing the bundle) or any features that may require the actual current bundle. This is an option though. I can’t remember if you were using a ‘outer or router but as long as you could set it up on the router/’puter that is an option of resort. Honestly I’d go the unknown bundle route and if I didn’t like it I’d worry about side loading your apps. As far as iBackup there are still some cool things you can do with it, as of 9.x.x (sure it still works on present updates), you can edit your touch pop ups use the silent switch for things like rotation lock and a few other decent “tweaks” I believe you can edit font packages as well as many other things, some of which are still being discovered so keep an open mind on the possibilities. http://www.redmondpie.com/enable-personal-hotspot-wi-fi-tethering-on-iphone-for-free-no-jailbreak-required/ Step 7 at above link is no longer possible with the patch apple did a long time ago. I’m not sure if deleting the “preferences.plist file” would revert to the unknown bundle. I can’t locate “carrier.plist” in the program. We’re all hoping you have better luck. Please let us know. Thank you. So I can confirm that pushing Athens same bundle, but currupted, still makes it revert to the unknown bundle. I downloaded the new carrier bundle for ios11 (metro 29.0) used another device that was jail broken to edit/corrupt the factory bundle then I pushed it on the ios11 device. This caused it to revert like we wanted. I’m gonna try to find a way for you to edit you’re bundle without the need to find someone with a jailbroken device. If you don’t mind using a WiFi tether for now you can sideload one of the hundreds of apps that make it to where you can tether through an ad-Hoc connection. This would make it run through the correct apn and keep all of your fancy features like volte, vowifi, etc, etc that the unknown bundle doesnt support. There are also a small amount of wired versions but are extremely hard to find when needed. This could at least get you going for now. Downside is that you would have to run it to your windows machine so you can”adjust” (mangle) the ttl but then you can also use ice to share it from there. Not the smoothest method but it would work ATLEAST for now. Apologies for my many delays and not being able to help a lot at the moment but I’m doing some experiments of my own and want to keep my mind focoused on that as much as possible for the time being. I will help you though. ~How did your jailbroken device corrupt a carrier bundle (to then copy to other device)? ~What app would you recommend to sideload for usb or wifi? ~Since you’ve already edited/corrupted the metro bundle for iso11, why not upload and post it? Since the bundle versions are by ios#, not device. It would be nice to edit a bundle myself, yet until that’s realized these 3 answers might help us in the meantime. I downloaded the file on the jb. Edited the apn then sent it to my ‘puter and pushed it. As far as side loading the app for you I would google it. There are a lot of WiFi ones with write ups floating and I’ve Had a usb one before that’s floating out there that’s similar to what easytether does on android. I haven’t had a need to side load one but like twice before I could get a jailbreak. As far as uploading it I’ll see what I can do I updated one device and now my tried and true 5s is acting like it’s dead and won’t go past the logo, only when plugged in, without dying and relooking. Not sure if it’s the battery or just done for. Either way I’ll see if I can find a way to pull mine off, doubtful, or make another one, first chance. You might already know this, just wanted to make it easy. If you upload the file to google drive, you can right-click on it and copy the private URL when you get a chance. Thank you. Similar situation as Flex’s. My specs: o T-Mobile One (limits WiFi hotspot to 512Kbps DL/UL) o iOS 9.3.5 o iPhone 5 (non-JB) o PIA VPN o regedit add for DefaultTTL REG_DWORD to 65 (41 in hex) on Win 10 Pro o Schlarb’s User Agent Switcher add-on in FF 56.0.2 o Used unlockit.co.nz website to upload APN for US TMo LTE This didn’t work… eager for suggestions. Also not sure how to sideload. C:\Users\12345nanananana>adb shell CPH1803:/ $ settings put global tether_dun_required 0 Security exception: Permission denial: writing to settings requires:android.perm ission.WRITE_SECURE_SETTINGS java.lang.SecurityException: Permission denial: writing to settings requires:and roid.permission.WRITE_SECURE_SETTINGS at com.android.providers.settings.SettingsProvider.enforceWritePermissio n(Unknown Source:32) at com.android.providers.settings.SettingsProvider.mutateGlobalSetting(U nknown Source:3) at com.android.providers.settings.SettingsProvider.insertGlobalSetting(U nknown Source:9) at com.android.providers.settings.SettingsProvider.call(Unknown Source:9 4) at android.content.ContentProvider$Transport.call(ContentProvider.java:4 05) at com.android.providers.settings.SettingsService$MyShellCommand.putForU ser(Unknown Source:63) at com.android.providers.settings.SettingsService$MyShellCommand.onComma nd(Unknown Source:619) at android.os.ShellCommand.exec(ShellCommand.java:96) at com.android.providers.settings.SettingsService.onShellCommand(Unknown Source:15) at android.os.Binder.shellCommand(Binder.java:594) at android.os.Binder.onTransact(Binder.java:492) at android.os.Binder.execTransact(Binder.java:697) 255|CPH1803:/ $ settings put global tether_dun_required 0 Security exception: Permission denial: writing to settings requires:android.perm ission.WRITE_SECURE_SETTINGS java.lang.SecurityException: Permission denial: writing to settings requires:and roid.permission.WRITE_SECURE_SETTINGS at com.android.providers.settings.SettingsProvider.enforceWritePermissio n(Unknown Source:32) at com.android.providers.settings.SettingsProvider.mutateGlobalSetting(U nknown Source:3) at com.android.providers.settings.SettingsProvider.insertGlobalSetting(U nknown Source:9) at com.android.providers.settings.SettingsProvider.call(Unknown Source:9 4) at android.content.ContentProvider$Transport.call(ContentProvider.java:4 05) at com.android.providers.settings.SettingsService$MyShellCommand.putForU ser(Unknown Source:63) at com.android.providers.settings.SettingsService$MyShellCommand.onComma nd(Unknown Source:619) at android.os.ShellCommand.exec(ShellCommand.java:96) at com.android.providers.settings.SettingsService.onShellCommand(Unknown Source:15) at android.os.Binder.shellCommand(Binder.java:594) at android.os.Binder.onTransact(Binder.java:492) at android.os.Binder.execTransact(Binder.java:697) My settings of the above worked great until October of this year. Tried different apps, and nothing is working consistently. Pdanet seems to work well but not compatible with Chromebook, and their wifi direct hotspot keep disconnected. Any new ideas Everything is still working here. Type “adb shell” and press enter. Don’t type the quotation marks “”, just the text inside them! Type “settings put global tether_dun_required 0” and press enter. note:for some reason, after a while, the tethering setting does go back to 1, which allows me to enable the hotspot, but blocks the internet access. hopefully I will figure it out. crafty phone companies That’s odd debugging sometimes uses a different driver but I’ve never heard of doing it like this. Sounds good to me. Thank you for the info. About a year ago, we bit the bullet and upgraded to the T Mobile One Plus International add-on for unlimited, high-speed tethering and hotspot data. Now we have our tether bridged to a router and works very well. It’s kinda cheating, but it’s so much easier for the wife and kids to reset it if needed. Sadly, the International plan is no longer available. We’ll probably reprice different phone/internet plans later this year. I have a script file here: nano /jffs/scripts/nat-start I don’t know what else to do. I have tried postrout and prerout and that didn’t work. What do i put in the router and what do I have to do with the phone. Please a step by step order of things. Mildew, can you help, or anyone! And just because a provider doesn’t care for certain operating systems installed on phones/tablets, doesnt not equal that they dont know about. No one cares if you believed it was a good idea to buy a MS powered mobile device, as companies look for the biggest shares, like the billions of devices running android, not the 5 using windows.. I type into cmd: adb shell Then I see: doha_n:/ $ So I add to that: settings put global tether_dun_required 0 Which makes doha_n:/ $ settings put global tether_dun_required 0 After I hit enter I just see: doha_n:/ $ I was wondering if this means it came through or am I doing something wrong? Cheers guys Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

How to Hide Data Usage and Get Truly Unlimited Tethering with T Mobile - 50How to Hide Data Usage and Get Truly Unlimited Tethering with T Mobile - 62How to Hide Data Usage and Get Truly Unlimited Tethering with T Mobile - 85How to Hide Data Usage and Get Truly Unlimited Tethering with T Mobile - 27How to Hide Data Usage and Get Truly Unlimited Tethering with T Mobile - 71How to Hide Data Usage and Get Truly Unlimited Tethering with T Mobile - 93